Skip to main content
Product Help | KitchenAid

Different Types of Grains - Grain and Rice Cooker

What are Grains?

There are two main types of grains: cereal grains and pseudocereals. Cereals are considered “true grains,” as they’re derived from cereal grasses. Pseudocereals are not derived from cereal grasses and are often gluten-free. Each grain has a unique flavor, texture, and nutritional profile.

Grains consist of three parts: the bran, germ, and endosperm. Each carries important nutritional benefits, which can help you create delicious and nutritious recipes. The bran is the outermost layer of the grain and contains vitamin B, minerals, and fiber. The endosperm is the middle portion of the grain, packed with protein and carbohydrates. The remaining innermost portion of the grain is the germ, which contains vitamins, proteins, minerals, oils, and antioxidants.

For more information on the different types of grains and how to use them in your recipes, CLICK HERE



Still need help? Contact us or schedule service.

Please contact us or click below to make an appointment from our preferred list of service providers for service on your appliances.

Interested in purchasing an Extended Service Plan?

Please click below to learn more on how you can save up to 25% on New Appliance Extended Service Plans within 30 days of your appliance purchase.

United States



  • Was this article helpful?